About XDOT as DBF utility

If you are converting a text-based Clipper application, a FoxPro application or just writing an application from scratch, use this forum for your eXpress++ questions.
Message
Author
User avatar
alepap
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:15 am

About XDOT as DBF utility

#1 Post by alepap »

With eXpress++, you have XDOT that is a command interpreter and DBF editor and a lot more. Very powerful tool to create, manipulate your DBF files.

CREATE FILE
MODIFY STRUCTURE
LIST STRUCTURE
BROWSE

Everything you use to do in command mode line like in foxpro 2.6 is there in XDOT.

You will find it on C:\EXP20\SOURCE\XDOT\*.*
When it compiles, the xdot.exe is placed in C:\EXP20\BIN20\XDOT.EXE

The folder C:\EXP20\BIN20 is suppose to be in your path, so you can call xdot from anywhere.

Also, if you are using the eXpress++ GUI eventloop, you can call xdot directly from your program using ALT_D.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4339
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#2 Post by rdonnay »

You can also use the DC_Dot() function in your program.

You will need to add DCLIP1.LIB to your project file or #Pragma Library("dclip1.lib") to your source file.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
alepap
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:15 am

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#3 Post by alepap »

When I load XDOT, I have FOXCDX as default DBE.
How can I set it to have DBFNTX as default DBE?

Thanks

User avatar
alepap
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:15 am

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#4 Post by alepap »

To load XDOT using the DBFNTX by default, I use a batch file to start it.

--- X.BAT ---
XDOT /DBE:DBFNTX
---

You can get all XDOT options by typing XDOT /?

Cliff Wiernik
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:11 pm
Location: Steven Point, Wisconsin USA
Contact:

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#5 Post by Cliff Wiernik »

When I load xdot via Alt-D from within my application, it defaults to the default dbe used in the application, in my case, ADSDBE.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4339
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#6 Post by rdonnay »

You can do this in one of 2 ways;

xdot /dbe:dbfntx

or

When at the dot prompt type the command: SET

Then select DBFNTX as the DBE.
When you exit, it will save everything to DCLIP.SYS.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
alepap
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:15 am

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#7 Post by alepap »

XDOT is an amazing tool to create/edit etc DBF files. It also has a built in interpreter. I´m loving it.

User avatar
alepap
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:15 am

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#8 Post by alepap »

Oh, I forgot to share with you that I use DBFNTX because FOXCDX is limited to 256 FIELDS.
When you go over 256 FIELDS it will crash the DBF file.

Roger seams to prefer FOXCDX. He said that the best they have done. It has to do with better index handling.

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1273
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#9 Post by Auge_Ohr »

alepap wrote:Oh, I forgot to share with you that I use DBFNTX because FOXCDX is limited to 256 FIELDS.
When you go over 256 FIELDS it will crash the DBF file.
hm ... German Help file say:
Max. Anzahl Felder 2038 *)
*) Xbase++ Versionen kleiner als 1.90 unterstützen nur bis zu 255 Felder pro Tabelle.
so how does your DBESYS look like ?
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4339
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: About XDOT as DBF utility

#10 Post by rdonnay »

Here are the FOXDBE specs:

Table file size Limited to 2^31 bytes (2 gigabytes)

Max. number of fields 2038 *)

Max. number of records (2^31 - Header() - 1) / RecSize()

Data types for fields

FoxPro B, C, D, F, G, I, L, N, M, T, Y, Q, V
Xbase++ F, C, D, N, O, I, L, N, M, T, Y, V, X

Memo file size Theoretical limit is 16 Terabyte or 2^31
blocks. Default block size of 64 bytes leads
to a maximum memo file size of 128GB


Memo block size 64 Bytes
(adjustable between 33 bytes and 64 kb)

Memo size Limited to 2^31 Bytes (2 gigabytes)

SET CHARSET The character set selected with SET CHARSET
upon file creation defines how text data
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply