Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

This forum is for general questions about how to use this board.
Message
Author
User avatar
digitsoft
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Re: Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

#11 Post by digitsoft »

the disc is 100% of its use when the system hangs up and I do not understand why this is happening.
Nolberto Paulino
Regards

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1405
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

#12 Post by Auge_Ohr »

digitsoft wrote:I am using SQLExpress with Postgress
perhaps you find something in PostgreSQL Log

Code: Select all

x:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\10.4\data\pg_log\
---
on some PC i notice when upgrade 1709 -> 1803 that Energy-Save-Setting was reset.
so have a look that Network Card does not use Energy-Save-Setting.
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

User avatar
digitsoft
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Re: Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

#13 Post by digitsoft »

Thank this is not problem


Auge_Ohr wrote:
digitsoft wrote:I am using SQLExpress with Postgress
perhaps you find something in PostgreSQL Log

Code: Select all

x:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\10.4\data\pg_log\
---
on some PC i notice when upgrade 1709 -> 1803 that Energy-Save-Setting was reset.
so have a look that Network Card does not use Energy-Save-Setting.
Nolberto Paulino
Regards

User avatar
digitsoft
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Re: Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

#14 Post by digitsoft »

hello Roger
how to activate the debugger to see all the processes that I am doing and see where the problem is.

rdonnay wrote:Tom is right. Probably your CPU is hitting 100%.

This can be caused mostly by DO WHILE or FOR NEXT loops that are doing processing in another thread.
If you have this situation in your program, you should always put a Sleep(.1) in the loop.

Other than that, I don't have any ideas.
Maybe it's a network that isn't responding.
Nolberto Paulino
Regards

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4722
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with alaska 1.90.355, and stops

#15 Post by rdonnay »

how to activate the debugger to see all the processes that I am doing and see where the problem is.
You can try calling DC_InspectThreads().

I have seen slowing occasionally by the Garbage Collector thread.
This can happen if you are re-creating a large array in a loop.

Example:

DO WHILE .t.

aDir := Directory()

nFound := AScan(aDir,{|a|a[1] == 'SHUTDOWN.TXT'})
IF nFound > 0
QUIT
ENDIF

ENDDO

The above code will make the garbage collector work overtime. This is because each time you store the Directory() info to the aDir variable it creates a new array pointer. The previous array pointer is thrown into the garbage.
The garbage collector thread will then release that pointer and its contents from memory. If you put a long sleep in the DO..WHILE loop, it will release processing time to other threads, including the garbage collector so it can keep up.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply