Lest we Forget

Discussion of any topic that lifts your mind or your spirit
rdonnay
Site Admin

Lest we Forget

#1 Post by rdonnay »

Last month I travelled around the country due to a sudden burst of nostalgia about my old Navy days.

I was an Electronics Technician for 8 years in the U.S. Navy during the cold war and the Vietnam war.
I did 3 Westpac tours on the USS James E Kyes DD-787, in which each tour included duty in the Gulf of Tonkin.
The U.S. Seventh Fleet spent so much time in the Gulf of Tonkin between 1963 and 1972 that it was often called the Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club.

On my final tour our ship was a member of an exercise in the South China Sea that included ships from 4 nations. Our destroyer squadron consisted of 4 ships which always deployed together. One of those ships was the USS Frank E Evans DD-754. I had been aboard that ship many times. During our exercise, the Australian aircraft carrier HMS Melbourne accidently collided with the Frank E Evans, cutting the ship in half and causing the forward portion of the ship to sink in less than 3 minutes with a loss of 74 men. I was a witness to the events of that day. I tried to put it out of my mind over the past 42 years after I left the Navy. I came close to being a statistic myself after nearly being electrocuted aboard my ship, but I survived and went on with my post-Navy life.