The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Diego Euri Almanzar
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:51 am
Location: DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#1 Post by Diego Euri Almanzar »

The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit.

This combination is perfect, very ingenious. I thought it worked for me on Windows 10 at 64 bit, but I forgot that my test computer is at 32 bit. I have visited some clients, who have Windows at 64, and it did not work for me. I installed 64 bit Windows on one of my test computers and it definitely doesn't work. The generated PDF is created fully encrypted, if the operating system is 64 bit. At 32 bit it works fine. Is there any way for the PDF generated with the following statements to work at 64 bit?

Best regart.


aOptions := { 0, NIL , '5', nil, nil, .f., 'Microsoft Print to PDF', 3, nil, .F., .F. }
DC_PrintPreviewAcrobatOpt( aOptions )
TMPpdf := "C:\APPWX\ALLPDF\"+alltrim(bcpimpor)+".PDF"
//
IF FILE(TMPpdf)
DELETE FILE (TMPpdf)
ENDIF


DCPRINT ON ACROBAT TO oPrinter TOFILE OUTFILE (TMPpdf)

skiman
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#2 Post by skiman »

Hi,

We are using Microsoft print to PDF since Windows 8 en server 2016, and never encountered any problem.

I'm wondering why you want to use that ACROBAT clause. There is no need to do that. Just print to 'Microsoft print to PDF' and specify the file you want as result.
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#3 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Be careful with copying the pdf file after the DCPRINT command.
MS to PDF works a little bit different than PDFCreator or PDF24. MS first create the file, then writes to the file.
So if you do an FExits() or File() the PDF exists, but it can be, that it is not ready printed.
So you have to wait, until you can open the PDF file exclusive, then it is ready.
I have some systems at my customers, where this needs sometimes up to 5 seconds.
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

Diego Euri Almanzar
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:51 am
Location: DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#4 Post by Diego Euri Almanzar »

Skiman,

initially, I wrote the program exactly as you indicate. But, on 64 bit operating systems, the PDF is created unreadable, or encrypted. So RDONNAY recommended the ACROBAT statement. It still doesn't work for me on 64 bit. to 32 bit, if it works for me.


Wolfgang,

the deletion of the file, or the File() question, I do it at the beginning, to eliminate documents of the same name. I don't do that procedure after the document is created. In any case, I thank you very much for your collaboration.

Best regards

skiman
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#5 Post by skiman »

Hi,

To be sure the document is already complete, I do the following. I test on %%EOF in the PDF.

Code: Select all

			cPdfContent := ""
			nTry := 0
			do while nTry < 100
				cPdfContent := memoread(cPrintFile)
				nTry ++
				if at("%%EOF", cPdfContent) > 0
					EXIT
				endif
				sleep(100)
			enddo
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

Diego Euri Almanzar
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:51 am
Location: DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#6 Post by Diego Euri Almanzar »

I already found the solution. There is no problem creating the PDF on a 64 bit operating system. My confusion was in the name of the printer. When the name of the printer is not spelled exactly the same as the name of the printer installed on the computer, the PDF is not processed and is encrypted. In some companies you visit, the name
'Microsoft Print to PDF', had a variation on the letter t, from To. On some computers it is lowercase, and on others it is uppercase. For example:

'Microsoft Print to PDF'

Not equal to:

'Microsoft Print To PDF'

In order to generate the PDF document, the name of the printer within the program must be exactly the same as the name of the installed printer.

Everything is already solved. I thank you very much for your collaboration.

Best regards.

skiman
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The ACROBAT statement in combination 'Microsoft Print to PDF' still did not work for me in 64 bit

#7 Post by skiman »

Hi,

I'm always asking for the printerlist to check if the Microsoft print to PDF is available. Then I take the name from the printerlist as it appeared in the list so it is always correct.
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

Post Reply