Multi-Edit problem

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4184
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Multi-Edit problem

#1 Post by rdonnay »

Does anyone have an install program for Multi-Edit?

My Windows 10 crashed last night and now I can't get Multi-edit to run.
It lost its configuration.

This usually happens to me about once per year.
In the past, I simply copied and old meconfig.db but that isn't working today.

It appears that the Multi-Edit website is still active but I can never get a support response.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Multi-Edit problem

#2 Post by Tom »

Sure you need an installation program? I still carry my good old MultiEdit8 around with me, and I just copy and link it if installation is needed on a new system. And I can confirm that ME loses it's configuration and the list of recent files once in a while. That's why I work with The Workbench, Sublime Text, Brackets and some other tools for editing. Most of the time. 8-)
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4184
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Multi-Edit problem

#3 Post by rdonnay »

Tom -

I'm too old to learn how to fly a plane.

I have been using the WordStar configuration since 1982.
Multi-Edit has been very good at letting me configure anything I want but very bad at losing that configuration on a Windows 10 crash.

I just finished remapping all my keys.
I saved the key map configuration to a PDF file so at least I have a reference next time.

Roger
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

omni
Posts: 480
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Re: Multi-Edit problem

#4 Post by omni »

I can send you a copy of mine if you need it..same thing happens to me sometimes, but I have a copy of the mew folder in various places and just copy it over. do not actually have to install it.
Do not use workbench...too used to multiedit

Fred
Omni

bwolfsohn
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:07 am
Location: Alachua, Florida USA
Contact:

Re: Multi-Edit problem

#5 Post by bwolfsohn »

I just copy from machine to machine..
I've also started to use notepad++ for some things..
Brian Wolfsohn
Retired and traveling around the country to music festivals in my RV.
OOPS.. Corona Virus, so NOT travelling around the country right now...
http://www.breadmanrises.com
FB travel group: The Breadman Rises

Post Reply