Differences 264 / 265

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#11 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Hello Roger,
i will do that in the next days.
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#12 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Hello Roger,
here is a small test program which shows the 3 differences between 264 and 265.
1. Caption of Groupbox: This can be solved by adding a COLOR GRA_CLR_.... to the DCGROUP. A lot of editing...
2. Offset of Caption on the button: Can be solved by removing the offset.
3. Color of the static. I have found no solution to get the same view with 265.

Sorry to bother you with these items, but i like to stay actual with the eXpress versions.
Attachments
Exp265test.zip
(125.37 KiB) Downloaded 682 times
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#13 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Hello Roger,
do you had time to look at my test program ?
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#14 Post by rdonnay »

do you had time to look at my test program ?
I will look at it now.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#15 Post by rdonnay »

This took me a long time to decide on a resolution for you.

I made a change to DCSTATIC_TYPE_GROUPBOX in build 265 to correct a long time bug in the code.
It was reported by Bobby Drakos and it fixed a problem in his application which showed up under Xbase++ 2.0.

Making that change caused a regression in your code mostly because you are using presentation parameters to set your colors.

I determined that it is impossible to create changes to the code which will satisfy the bug fix and also your legacy application, therefore I chose to do the following:

I added a new Get-Set function: DC_EmulatePre265().
This defaults to .FALSE. therefore the default is the new fixes.

So that you will not see any changes in your legacy code, you will need to add the following to the start of your application:
DC_EmulatePre265(.t.)

I made this change to the build 265 version of _DCCLASS.PRG (just for you) and also to the build 266 version which is still in development. The source is attached. Copy it to your \exp20\source\dclipx folder and rebuild dclipx.dll by running build19_sl1.bat. I assume that you are still using Xbase++ 1.9 because the sample TEST.EXE you sent me was compiled in 1.9.
Attachments
_dcclass.zip
(43.51 KiB) Downloaded 691 times
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#16 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Hello Roger,
many, many thanks for your work, i think now i can change to 265.
I wonder, why no other eXpress users have these problems. Is it so exotic to use presentation parameters to set the colors ? Or is it, because i am the only one who sets the background color for the dialogs to a specific color ?
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#17 Post by rdonnay »

Is it so exotic to use presentation parameters to set the colors ?
In the case of DCSTATICs, I guess that it is unusual because most eXpress++ users use the COLOR clause.

It is not unusual to use presentation parameters for DCBROWSE because there are so many different visual requirements that can best be applied via an array of data.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#18 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Hello Roger,
can you please have a look at the attached test program.
With version 265 the Bitmaps are not displayed, same code with 264 is ok.
Attachments
Exp265test.zip
(261.05 KiB) Downloaded 674 times
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

Wolfgang Ciriack
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#19 Post by Wolfgang Ciriack »

Helo Roger,
it is not urgend, but if you find some time, can you please look at the new test prog with shows another difference between 264 and 265 ?
_______________________
Best Regards
Wolfgang

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Differences 264 / 265

#20 Post by rdonnay »

Wolfgang -

This is from the README.TXT file:

1414. Added new function: DC_SetIconResource(). This function is used to
prevent errors that can be caused by trying to load an icon resource
with DC_GetBitMap() that is not really an icon. Xbase++ will
sometimes create an IDSC under this condition. For example, all the
icons in a RES file should be grouped within a range and that range
should be specified by DC_SetIconResource().

A little history:

When DC_GetBitmap() was originally written back in 1999, Xbase++ did not support icons. There was no XbpIcon() class, only XbpBitmap(). When they added support for icons, I had to put some code in the DC_GetBitmap() function to test whether or not the numeric resource being passed to DC_GetBitmap() was an icon rather than a bitmap so I could use XbpIcon() instead of XbpBitmap(). I probably should have handled this differently way back in 2009 but I didn't because I thought that just using a Windows API call to determine if it was an icon would suffice. Unfortunately, it occasionally caused IDSC's so I had to come up with another workaround to tell eXpress++ what group of numeric resources included icons. This was added in build 265. I didn't know this would cause a regression, but it appears that it did due to a typo error in my code (which I now fixed in build 266). A workaround for you is to define which resource group contains your icons.

Add the following at the start of your main program:

DC_SetIconResource(11106,11106)
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply