Virtual screen

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Virtual screen

#1 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

I have a problem. Or rather not me, but some users. The fact that I have a pretty good computer with a powerful processor, good graphics card and large monitor. And when I designed the system, just forgot that not all users of my system are the same good graphics card and monitors. In short, I made a number of screen forms, including graphics designed for a resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixels. These screen forms are displayed incorrectly or even lead to errors of performance at lower screen resolutions, which are usually on laptops and ultrabooks, etc. to Rewrite a large number of shapes to scale on the actual screen resolution on the user's computer I don't have much opportunity.

QUESTION: maybe there is some driver that intercepted the image submitted to the GPU, given scale to it under a given screen resolution and display is the scaled image? Display not physical but a virtual screen.

To set a custom monitor resolution not want, because with the message that it may be a damaged monitor.

And what I ask is reminiscent of how TeamViewer works. But not on a remote computer on the local. In TeamViewer you can come out with a laptop with a low resolution monitor to a computer with a high resolution on a small screen is acceptable (understandable, of course, that is not "pixel to pixel") is displayed large monitor of the remote computer.

c-tec
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:36 am
Location: SALZBURG/AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: Virtual screen

#2 Post by c-tec »

Hello,
take a look at http://www.tsplus.net/
it has several methods to connect, also with a standard HTML5 browser, and it is cheap. For example 5 users about 125 $. You can try it with a 30days test version.
regards
Rudolf
Rudolf Reinthaler
digital pen & paper systems
http://www.formcommander.net

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1405
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Virtual screen

#3 Post by Auge_Ohr »

Eugene Lutsenko wrote:And what I ask is reminiscent of how TeamViewer works.
Teamviewer & Co works total different. :naughty:
what you see is just a Video Stream with can be any Size. :lol:

so it is no Problem to play a Full-HD Video on a 10" Table-PC and Power come from Hardware Acceleration. :dance:
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

Victorio
Posts: 620
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Virtual screen

#4 Post by Victorio »

Hi,
I met with this problem when I work on my PC with 1680/1050 resolution, and start program on other PC / old notebook.
The result was very very bad :(
Then I must implement test screen resolution to program when start program and then set font, and window, table sizes.
Worse resolution,worse look, then minimal resolution I set to 800/600.
In tables view in lower resolution I see less rows etc.

So, I do not know help you , but only mean, you can realize with some "generalise" procedure, that generalize screen output to screen. Some algotithm whis is use for example in JPEG resampler, to low resolution graphics pictures.
Maybe it is completely wrong idea...

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: Virtual screen

#5 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

I understand I have to rewrite. But you do not want. What is "JPEG resampler" I don't understand (don't know).

Victorio
Posts: 620
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Virtual screen

#6 Post by Victorio »

I note about JPEG Resampler only for example. This is utility for resample graphics images to smaller size, etc.
You can found it on http://software.macek.cc/resampler.php? ... 0&nr=13094
With it can change image from 1MByte size change to 100kb, or 10kb, with legibility. Or change size of picture etc.
This work with images very good, some alorithm can be used also for controlling screen outputs.
But i think it can be usable for some static reports, graphs, etc. and maybe more complicated than rewrite source.

I use only set font by screen resolution :

* menšie ako 800x600 - nepodporované !!! ukončiť program
aSize := SetAppWindow():currentSize()
aPos := SetAppWindow():currentPos()

if aSize[1]<800
* nepodporované, ukončiť program

elseif aSize[1]>=800 .and. aSize[1]<1024
* font normal typ
fontnt:="7.Arial CE"
* font normal vyška
fontnv:=7
* font bold typ
fontbt:="7.Arial CE Bold"
* font bold vyška
fontbv:=7
* font bold typ pre hlavné menu
fontbtmenu:="8.Arial CE Bold"
* font bold vyška-menu
fontbvmenu:=8
elseif aSize[1]>=1024 .and. aSize[1]<1152
* font normal typ
fontnt:="7.Arial CE"
* font normal vyška
fontnv:=7
* font bold typ
fontbt:="7.Arial CE Bold"
* font bold vyška
fontbv:=7
* font bold typ pre hlavné menu
fontbtmenu:="8.Arial CE Bold"
* font bold vyška-menu
fontbvmenu:=8
... etc for all resolutions

User avatar
unixkd
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Virtual screen

#7 Post by unixkd »

This is a general problem for all Xbase++ developers. You can never know the type of screen resolution that your would be client will have. Roger is his sample programs try to do this:

nWidth := AppDeskTop():currentSize()[1]
IF nWidth <= 800
cSayFont := '7.Arial'
cGetFont := '9.Courier New'
nColPixels := 7
nRowPixels := 20
ELSEIF nWidth <= 1024
cSayFont := '8.Arial'
cGetFont := '10.Courier New'
nColPixels := 8.5
nRowPixels := 24
ELSEIF nWidth <= 1280
cSayFont := '9.Arial'
cGetFont := '10.Courier New'
nColPixels := 9.5
nRowPixels := 24
ELSEIF nWidth <= 1366
cSayFont := '9.Arial'
cGetFont := '10.Courier New'
nColPixels := 9
nRowPixels := 26
ELSE
cSayFont := '11.Arial'
cGetFont := '12.Courier New'
nColPixels := 11.5
nRowPixels := 32
ENDIF
*
DCGETOPTIONS ;
RESIZE RESIZEDEFAULT DCGUI_RESIZE_AUTORESIZE_SCALEFONT ;
SAYFONT cSayFont ;
GETFONT cGetFont ;
FONT cSayFont;
COLPIXELS nColPixels ;
ROWPIXELS nRowPixels ;
ROWSPACE nRowPixels

But this does not work 100% with all resolutions. It will be good if we can have screen resized according to target resolution.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4722
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Virtual screen

#8 Post by rdonnay »

Not only Xbase++ applications have these issues.

I cannot run Photoshop on my new laptop with 4k resolution.
The fonts are so small I can't even read the screen.

At least eXpress++ has a mechanism to deal with this.

You can design for a smaller resolution and then use the SCALING feature.

I will try to write a better sample.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
unixkd
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Virtual screen

#9 Post by unixkd »

Ok Roger that will be great.

Joe

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: Virtual screen

#10 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

Examples of Roger is always very valuable, as are ready-to-use technical solutions!

But my question was different: if the program already creates an image with high resolution, is there a way to display it on the screen with the lower resolution scale it to a smaller resolution, and after that display?

Post Reply