Problems with 2.0 compile

Xbase++ 2.0 Build 554 or later
Message
Author
omni
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Problems with 2.0 compile

#1 Post by omni »

Roger,

Now finally loaded and attempting to compile my main app. Found the notes on the asinet1c library and used logic you gave someone else based on alaska version.
Excel.ch is no longer in the alaska includes, and also no example. If I remove the ch based on version it works until the save option is used. Do you think I should use the old ch file or is there another command now?
oBook:SaveAs( newname , xlWorkbookNormal )

Also, the please wait dialog also errorred on this same program when i tried it, and had to remove it to test the excel.


cDialog := DC_WaitOn('Please Wait While Creating Spreadsheet',,,,,,,SetAppWindow(),SetAppWindow(),.t.)

Did something change on that in 2.0 on express?

Thanks for your help. Probably more questions will come up.

Fred
Omni

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#2 Post by rdonnay »

I don't really understand your Excel issue.

Alaska software never included Excel.ch in their include folder.
It may have been placed in one of the source\samples sub folders.

When you say that it doesn't work, what does that mean?
Are you getting runtime errors.

These are the Excel defines that I put in _DCFUNCT.PRG to support DC_WorkArea2Excel().

// Excel Orientation
#DEFINE xlLandscape 2
#DEFINE xlPortrait 1

#DEFINE xlWorkbookNormal -4143
#DEFINE xlCellTypeLastCell 11
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

omni
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#3 Post by omni »

Yes, it was included in an Alaska sample in 1.9. I will just try it. We export the file in its entirety.

On the dialog for wait, I counted and there is one less parameter, not sure what that is but we use that in over 600 programs If I remove one comma it works. I can do that by version but is there a way around that?. The users had their whole desktop locked up so we added those parameters.

Fred

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#4 Post by rdonnay »

DC_WaitOn() has not changes in years.

Here is the prototype:

It's the same for both 1.9 and 2.0.
Both use the same source code.

FUNCTION dc_waiton ( aMessage, lSound, cColor1, cColor2, nTop, nLeft, ;
cTitle, lWorking, oParent, oOwner, lModal )


You are not sending the correct parameters.
You need one more comma.

I cannot explain why it would have worked before.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1407
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#5 Post by Auge_Ohr »

omni wrote:Excel.ch is no longer in the alaska includes, and also no example.
your can generate a *.CH from a COM / ActiveX Interface with Xbase++ "tlb2ch.exe CLSID"

Code: Select all

tlb2ch.exe excel.application > excel.ch
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

c-tec
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:36 am
Location: SALZBURG/AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#6 Post by c-tec »

Hello,
after testing I found that in my dc_waiton() (V 255 ) at least the parameters sound, color1, color2, working etc. are ignored, can someone confirm that ?
regards
Rudolf
Rudolf Reinthaler
digital pen & paper systems
http://www.formcommander.net

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#7 Post by rdonnay »

after testing I found that in my dc_waiton() (V 255 ) at least the parameters sound, color1, color2, working etc. are ignored, can someone confirm that ?
Yes, this is correct.

DC_WaitOn() was originally written under Clipper and was part of my product dCLIP. Those parameters are used in NON-GUI mode (DC_Gui(.f.)). When I originally wrote eXpress++ back in 1999, I imported many old functions so I could help some of my customers with their non-gui conversions.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

omni
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#8 Post by omni »

Roger,

Search and replace app I have will add the comma. That works and my Excel works.

Have a minor issue with font size on my buttons (some of them), calendar, and my combo boxes. Font is bigger so on many items the letters are cut off. Is there a default setting that I can change? Do not want to go back and check all 1000+ programs...
Using standard addbutton (which is fine) and DCPUSHBUTTON, which is a problem.
On the standard popup calendar the top of the month name is cut off.

fred

omni
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#9 Post by omni »

Also, the get and dcget is slightly larger, making some of the screens not look right. Fields actually overwrite. I know I can change them, but not sure what was being used before as opposed to now in 2.0. Same for the @say font. Slightly larger and some characters are cut off. I think there is an overall atsay font size command but not sure what was used previously.
Forget the Calendar issue, that was an old type not being used but was still on a test program.

Sorry for bothering on these small issues, but correcting the screens and fonts program by program will take forever...

Fred

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Problems with 2.0 compile

#10 Post by rdonnay »

Font is bigger so on many items the letters are cut off.
Are you saying there is a difference between versions of eXpress++ on the same computer?

There should be no difference. If there is, then you should change the base font.
This feature was added in build 260.

1304. Added new Get-Set function: DC_BaseFont(). This is used to set the
base font type and size for some eXpress++ dialog elements. Default is
8.MS Sans Serif. This is equivalent to the old 8.Helv. Thanks to
Jack Duijf.

If you are seeing different results on different computers, it could be that you need to change the DPI setting in your control panel - Screen preferences.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply