Page 1 of 2

Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 12:05 am
by skiman
Hi,

Is there a known problem with the hiliteget with Xbase2.0? It seems that the positioning isn't always correct.

After upgrading to 2.0 for all our customers we have some complaints about this. I never noticed it on one of our PC's.
hilitegets.png
hilitegets.png (32.43 KiB) Viewed 2838 times
As you can see, the yellow rectangle isn't on the correct position.

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 12:32 am
by Tom
No problems here. We do use it intensively.

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 1:08 am
by skiman
Hi Tom,

It seems as on most systems there isn't a problem. I checked the resolution on customer PC's where the problem appears and I see nothing strange. They have a normal resolution.
I'm using this also in all my screens since 20 years and never had any problem. We had the 2.0 version in test at about 20 customers and everything was fine. Now we had the rollout for all the customers and there we have the problem. :cry:
I will need to go back to 1.9 for these customers if I can't find a solution for this.

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 1:37 am
by skiman
Hi,

Meanwhile I can simulate it on my PC. When the windows scale is set to 125% the problem arises.

This is only with Xbase 2.0 with 1.9 it is correct.

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 1:45 am
by Tom
When the windows scale is set to 125% the problem arises.
Not here. Not with, not without scalefactor. Even manually using the hilitegets-function works without problems (we do that in some dialogs). Can you extract a sample?

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 2:02 am
by skiman
Hi,

Seems as it is something with the getoptions or dcread parameter.

The code below is working correct:

Code: Select all

Function hilitetest()
************************
Local getlist := {} , cName := "Chris Andries        " ,  lOk := .T.
@ 1,1 dcsay "Name: " get cName sayright saysize 20 getsize 40

dcread gui addbuttons to lOk
return nil

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 3:02 am
by skiman
I found the cause.

With a lot of functions I have a parameter which is the drawingarea of my dialog. In the DCREAD i have APPWINDOW oDIalogArea as a parameter. This causes the wrong hiliteget.

In my main menu the function is called as follows: hilitetest(oDlg:drawingArea) Without the APPWINDOW it is correct.

Code: Select all

Function hilitetest(oDialogArea)
************************
Local getlist := {} , cName := "Chris Andries        " ,  lOk := .T. , getoptions := {} , oDlgKlant 
@ 1,1 dcsay "Name: " get cName sayright saysize 20 getsize 40

DCGETOPTIONS FITPAD 50 autoresize alwaysontop

	DCREAD GUI fit ;
		options getoptions ;
		TITLE fMessage(1000) ;
		FIT PARENT @oDlgklant ;
		APPWINDOW oDialogArea

return nil

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 3:37 am
by Tom
A drawingarea is not a window. 8)

Don't go back to 1.9! ;)

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 4:27 am
by skiman
Hi Tom,

That :drawingarea is since years in my code. Never had any problem with it.

I changed it by sending just the oDlg as a parameter and this seems to be the solution. The behaviour of the dialogs isn't changed.

I don't want to go back to 1.9 but if no solution was found, i had no choice.

Re: Hilitegets with Xbase 2.0

Posted: Tue May 09, 2023 6:05 am
by rdonnay
Is your problem solved?

Nobody else has ever reported this as a problem with 2.0 and it is a popular feature.