bb.donnay-software.com

Donnay Software Web Forums
It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:28 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ribbon Bar Sample
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 8:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:58 am
Posts: 103
Hi Roger,

I'm not seeing the icons in Ribbon Bar Sample

Attachment:
Untitled-1.gif
Untitled-1.gif [ 8.73 KiB | Viewed 5951 times ]


I've tried:
- Moving the icons outside the icon folder without changing any code.

Code:
CJLoadIcon ".\Icons\App.ico" ID 1 STATE xtpImageNormal PARENT oCommandBars:icons


- Move the Icons to their original folder, and edit CJLoadIcon like so :

Code:
CJLoadIcon "\Icons\App.ico" ID 1 STATE xtpImageNormal PARENT oCommandBars:icons


- and like so:

Code:
CJLoadIcon "..\Icons\App.ico" ID 1 STATE xtpImageNormal PARENT oCommandBars:icons


But no luck in showing the icons. Any ideas?

Best Regards,

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ribbon Bar Sample
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Posts: 4013
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Andy -

I stopped development on XCodeJock several years ago because it became apparent that I was not going to get any support from the CodeJock developers. Also, I was informed by Alaska Software that some CodeJock functions were just not compatible with Xbase++ because the CodeJock product uses many operating system workarounds.

There are eXpress++ users who are using some of the features successfully, but they know that they are on their own.

I have found that I can write many CodeJock capabilities in eXpress++, especially since adding new eXpress++ features over the years.

For example, look at the OutlookBar sample.

I HATE the Ribbon bar stuff, as do many others.
It was impossible to get it to work reliably.

Tomorrow morning, I am leaving on a 3-week motorcycle trip.
I am going to a Navy reunion for the USS Frank E. Evans, then to California and finally to the Xbase++ conference in Phoenix.
I will not be able to address your CodeJock issues until I return in late October.

Roger

_________________
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ribbon Bar Sample
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:10 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Posts: 749
Location: Berlin, Germany
I was using Docking Panes, Task Dialogs, CJ Buttons, Skin Framework and some other controls. None of them worked reliable. It was hard to get them working anyway, even with Roger's help, but I got rid of this stuff since it took tremendous ressources, worked slow and never did exactly what I was expecting. I was able to replace most of it with ownerdrawn controls. I even started working with the Ribbon Bar, which is an interesting approach for the kind of applications I create, and I was working with Michael Rudrich on this, who tried the same (BTW - Where are you, Michael?). It was very unsatisfying, since adding data from the app to the Ribbon Bar or reflecting events from it caused lots of trouble. The only thing I have left are some CJ buttons here and there, but they still react different to the native pushbuttons from Xbase++.

To be honest, I stopped working when CJ 13.6 was the actual version. Maybe it's better now. I also believe, the ActiveX-management of Xbase++ isn't as good as it should be. Maybe this is also better now (since 2.0 is to be released), but I have no information about this.

_________________
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ribbon Bar Sample
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:21 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Posts: 749
Location: Berlin, Germany
@Andy: After starting it, the RibbonBar sample doesn't show anything at my place aswell. It starts showing something when the dialog is resized. You may see a small blue area at the top left side. Click it. Maybe, the ribbon shows up.

Another hint: Erase "ToolbarDemo.txt" from the folder where the EXE resides. The sample stores the last configuration there. It I do this, the sample comes up like expected:


Attachments:
ribbon.jpg
ribbon.jpg [ 25.55 KiB | Viewed 5930 times ]

_________________
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group