cueBanner / showBalloon

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
Zdeno Bielik
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:24 am
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Contact:

cueBanner / showBalloon

#1 Post by Zdeno Bielik »

Hi Roger,

please, can you add support into DCSLE / DCGET for :cueBanner and :showBalloonTip() / hideBalloonTip() ?
Or is it already there and I did lost some track about integrated news ?

Thank you

Regards
Zdeno


s pozdravom

zdeno bielik
ace system, spol. s r.o.
štiavnická 18
949 01 nitra
http://www.acesystem.sk
tel: 0904 – 328 888
... s nami dostávate vždy viac

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#2 Post by rdonnay »

I was never able to get :cuebanner to work. I will try again.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#3 Post by Tom »

CueBanner only works if the fields/vars are really empty. This will show a cuebanner:

Code: Select all

cMyVar1 := ""
cMyVar2 := ""
@ 1,1 DCSAY 'Test:' GET cMyVar1 GETSIZE 30 GETEVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}
@ 2,1 DCSAY 'Test:' GET cMyVar2 GETSIZE 30 GETEVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}

DCREAD GUI ADDBUTTONS
It will NOT show a cuebanner if cMyVar1 is initialized to "Space(30)". It also doesn't show the banner if the field has focus. Cuebanners only work if there's a manifest file - or if a manifest is linked to the app.

Edit: My sample does not allow to enter text anyway. :lol:

Also look here:
http://www.alaska-software.com/scripts/ ... PDRID=6083
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#4 Post by rdonnay »

Tom -

This is a bit of a problem because @ DCSAY..GET and DCGET are all based on DC_XbpGet() which requires that the variables have a fixed length. It wouldn't be much of a problem with with DCSLE.

I may need to create my own cuebanner system for DCGET.

Roger
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#5 Post by rdonnay »

No matter how much I try, I have NEVER been able to get a :cueBanner to display anything and I have yet to see a sample program that demonstrates it working.

Here is my latest try (and YES, I am using a manifest file) :

Code: Select all

#INCLUDE "dcdialog.ch"

FUNCTION Main()

LOCAL GetList[0]

LOCAL cMyVar1 := ""
LOCAL cMyVar2 := ""
@ 1,1 DCSAY 'Test:'
@ DCGUI_ROW, DCGUI_COL + 10 DCSLE cMyVar1 SIZE 30 EVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}

@ 2,1 DCSAY 'Test:'
@ DCGUI_ROW, DCGUI_COL + 10 DCGET cMyVar2 SIZE 30 EVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}

DCREAD GUI FIT ADDBUTTONS

RETURN nil
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#6 Post by Tom »

This is from my sample code (1st get has focus, so no banner is shown):
Attachments
cuebanner.jpg
cuebanner.jpg (4.85 KiB) Viewed 13849 times
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#7 Post by rdonnay »

When you refer to your sample, I assume you mean this?

Code: Select all

cMyVar1 := ""
cMyVar2 := ""
@ 1,1 DCSAY 'Test:' GET cMyVar1 GETSIZE 30 GETEVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}
@ 2,1 DCSAY 'Test:' GET cMyVar2 GETSIZE 30 GETEVAL {|o|o:CueBanner := 'Enter Text'}

DCREAD GUI ADDBUTTONS
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#8 Post by Tom »

This is from your code. Win XP (other sample was on 7), visual styles enabled, theme enabled. Second get has focus:
Attachments
cue2.gif
cue2.gif (4.98 KiB) Viewed 13845 times
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#9 Post by Tom »

When you refer to your sample, I assume you mean this?
Yeah. 8-)
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: cueBanner / showBalloon

#10 Post by rdonnay »

Ok, I finally figured it out.

Thanks to your PDR link to Alaska, I came to realize that I had Asian fonts installed.
I would never have expected that.
I think I recall doing that now when trying to help Michael with a his Chinese problem.

For the first time ever, I now see a banner.
Now I can work this issue. Still not sure how I'm going to handle this with DCGET.

Thanks, Tom.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply