Page 1 of 4

Error in DCBrowse (solved)

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:07 am
by Wolfgang Ciriack
Hello Roger,
at some customers i still sometimes get this error in a DCBrowse which is heavily used. Mostly, in a network, if the response time is slow.
Do you have some idea, were this can come from ?
(I use version 266)

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:25 am
by digitsoft
Please put an example of the code that can be compiled to help you

Wolfgang Ciriack wrote:Hello Roger,
at some customers i still sometimes get this error in a DCBrowse which is heavily used. Mostly, in a network, if the response time is slow.
Do you have some idea, were this can come from ?
(I use version 266)

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:55 am
by Tom
This is nothing that can be replicated with demo code. It's from normal browses, just DCBROWSE with some columns, and it doesn't happen often, but it happens. We also get this, and the reports we get come from different browses, different topologies, they have nothing in common.

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:49 am
by rdonnay
The error is in the :gotoItem method of XbpBrowse.

Unfortunately, Alaska no longer gives us the source for that class.

I have the source from Xbase++ 1.9 (xbp_brw.prg), but there is nothing in the :gotoItem method that has a >= in the code so it's going to be difficult to figure out what Xbase++ has added to the code in version 2.0 that can cause this error.

The error is caused by comparing an array type to a numeric type.

I suggest that you send that error info to Alaska Software anyway.
They may have some ideas.

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:42 am
by Auge_Ohr
rdonnay wrote: Unfortunately, Alaska no longer gives us the source for that class.
I'm surprised that Alaska does not supply Browse source anymore.
as i know it was always part of Pro Version so it is now incomplete ...

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:58 am
by Wolfgang Ciriack
Hello Roger,
this error is still with XBase 1.9.

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:28 pm
by rdonnay
Search your Xbase++ 1.9 installation for Xbp_Brw.Prg.

Look at that line of code (1896).

I would like to see what that code is doing.

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:38 pm
by Auge_Ohr
this is in v1.9.355

Code: Select all

1891 METHOD XbpBrowse:GotoItem ( nRow, nCol, lDehilite )
1892
1893    DEFAULT lDehilite TO FALSE
1894
1895    // when the same item has been marked a second time, I will just return
1896    IF ( ::CursorMode == XBPBRW_CURSOR_ROW )

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:39 pm
by rdonnay
That source code doesn't match the error info.

Re: Error in DCBrowse

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:31 pm
by Wolfgang Ciriack
In my file Xbp_Brw.Prg in the express\Source\Dclipx folder i get the same as Jimmy posted.

Code: Select all

    IF ( ::CursorMode == XBPBRW_CURSOR_ROW )
       IF nRow == ::RowPos
I think it is the row IF nRow == ::RowPos, so nRow seems to be an array ???

@Tom,
do you get these errors with 2.0 ?