Buttons under a new window

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
Andy Edward
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:58 am

Re: Buttons under a new window

#11 Post by Andy Edward »

rdonnay wrote:I need to see your FORM_BOX command.

I think the issue may be the TEXTOBJ clause.

This may not be actually creating a proper pointer to the object, which would cause the buttons to be children of the dialog drawingArea rather than the FORM_BOX.

To insure that this is correct you can use the DC_ArrayView() function. It will show you the children of oText1Static.

Do this:

DCREAD GUI EVAL {||DC_ArrayView( oText1Static )}

This should show you the child list. You should see a lot of DC_XbpPushButtonXP() objects.
This is from the DC_ARRAYVIEW(oText1Static)
Untitled-1.gif
Untitled-1.gif (28.16 KiB) Viewed 5991 times
Should the buttons not be there?

Regards,

Andy

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4722
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Buttons under a new window

#12 Post by rdonnay »

This looks correct.

The buttons are children of the static.

I don't understand quite what is happening.

It could be something wrong with the ownerdrawing code of your static.

Is it possible to send me code that I can compile and run?
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1165
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Buttons under a new window

#13 Post by Tom »

Looks like "CustomStatic" does not repaint in every situation where repainting is needed.
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4722
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Buttons under a new window

#14 Post by rdonnay »

Looks like "CustomStatic" does not repaint in every situation where repainting is needed.
It should be easy to determine if it is the source of the problem.
Just comment out the SUBCLASS clause.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Andy Edward
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:58 am

Re: Buttons under a new window

#15 Post by Andy Edward »

rdonnay wrote:
Looks like "CustomStatic" does not repaint in every situation where repainting is needed.
It should be easy to determine if it is the source of the problem.
Just comment out the SUBCLASS clause.
Roger, we've decided to comment out the "CustomStatic" Subclass command first. It's working for us at the moment.

I've tried to create a sample project for you, but a simple one does not have the 'disappearing' behavior. Which led me to believe that our app's way of handling windows/dialogue can also be the cause.

Until I can replicate this in a sample project, I think we'll just use without the owner drawing of the static and use a recessedbox instead

Thank you

Regards,

Andy

Post Reply