stupid question

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
BruceN
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Slidell, LA

stupid question

#1 Post by BruceN »

i want to use dc_dbfile to get the whole path of a work area (not sure it's writing to right place). i get unresolved external when i do. i assume that means i don't have the right header file listed in the includes.

i have dcdialog.ch, what header file should i add?

thanks
There are only 10 kinds of people - those who understand binary and those who don't :)

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4733
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: stupid question

#2 Post by rdonnay »

You would use DC_DbfName().

It's in DCLIP1.DLL.

Put this at the top of your program:

#Pragma Library("dclip1.lib")
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

BruceN
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Slidell, LA

Re: stupid question

#3 Post by BruceN »

thanks... i learned programmi ng (the little i know) from trial and error and looking at code. still don't understand what a 'pragma' is. i'll try it, thanks.
There are only 10 kinds of people - those who understand binary and those who don't :)

BruceN
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Slidell, LA

Re: stupid question

#4 Post by BruceN »

when i add the pragma statement it compiles and runs... but when i put in the line:
t1:= dc_dbfname()

i get this error:

oError:args :
-> VALTYPE: C VALUE: CDXDBE
-> VALTYPE: L VALUE: .T.
oError:canDefault : Y
oError:canRetry : N
oError:canSubstitute: N
oError:cargo : NIL
oError:description : Invalid DLL name for DBE
oError:filename :
oError:genCode : 52
oError:operation : DbeLoad
oError:osCode : 0
oError:severity : 2
oError:subCode : 8009
oError:subSystem : BASE
oError:thread : 1
oError:tries : 0


does dc_dbfname require ntx indexes for some reason or what ?
thanks
There are only 10 kinds of people - those who understand binary and those who don't :)

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4733
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: stupid question

#5 Post by rdonnay »

Send me a sample program that creates this error.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply